Monday, May 29, 2023

June in Buffalo 2023: Arditti Quartet

Friday, June 9

Arditti Quartet
Irvine Arditti and Ashot Sarkissjan, violin
Ralf Ehlers, viola
Lucas Fels, cello
4pm, Baird Recital Hall (Room 250, Baird Hall)


This workshop program will feature works for string quartet by distinguished June in Buffalo student participants.


Saturday, June 10
Arditti Quartet
Irvine Arditti and Ashot Sarkissjan, violin
Ralf Ehlers, viola
Lucas Fels, cello
7:30pm, Lippes Concert Hall in Slee Hall

(Source: )

June in Buffalo is delighted to welcome back the fabulous Arditti Quartet in 2023. On Friday, June 9th, at 4:00 p.m., the Arditti Quartet will present a workshop program in the Baird Recital Hall featuring works for string quartet by June in Buffalo participant composers. On Saturday, June 10th, at 7:30 p. m. in Lippes Concert Hall, the Quartet will performs music by senior composers, including Ann Cleare’s Moil and Robert H.P. Platz’s Strings (Echo VII). The evening also features Artistic Director emeritus David Felder’s Netivot for string quartet and electronics. The evening concludes with a performance of Wolfgang Rihm’s Epilog, for which the Ardittis will be joined by cellist and June in Buffalo Director Jonathan Golove.

Irvine Arditti and the Arditti Quartet have long been closely connected to UB, the Center for 21st Century Music and the June in Buffalo festival. The Center’s previous artistic director, SUNY Distinguished Professor David Felder, wrote all three of his string quartets for the group (the first one dates from 1987-88), who went on to play them at prominent new music festivals worldwide. His latest string quartet, Netivot, written for both the Arditti and JACK Quartets, was premiered by the Ardittis at June in Buffalo 2016. Thanks to the Center’s support, both Irvine Arditti and his quartet have been able to visit June in Buffalo with greatly increased frequency—the quartet was resident ensemble in 2007, 2010, 2016, 2022 and now in 2023, while Irvine Arditti was guest soloist in 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2019.

The Arditti Quartet enjoys a worldwide reputation for their spirited and technically refined interpretations of contemporary and earlier 20th century music. Many hundreds of string quartets and other chamber works have been written for the ensemble since its foundation by first violinist Irvine Arditti in 1974. Many of these works have left a permanent mark on 20th century repertoire and have given the Arditti Quartet a firm place in music history. World premieres of quartets by composers such as Abrahamsen, Ades, Andriessen, Aperghis, Birtwistle, Britten, Cage, Carter, Denisov, Dillon, Dufourt, Dusapin, Fedele, Ferneyhough, Francesconi, Gubaidulina, Guerrero, Harvey, Hosokawa, Kagel, Kurtag, Lachenmann, Ligeti, Maderna, Manoury, Nancarrow, Reynolds, Rihm, Scelsi, Sciarrino, Stockhausen and Xenakis and hundreds more show the wide range of music in the Arditti Quartet’s repertoire.

The ensemble believes that close collaboration with composers is vital to the process of interpreting modern music and therefore attempts to work with every composer it plays.The players’ commitment to educational work is indicated by their masterclasses and workshops for young performers and composers all over the world.

Over the past 30 years, the ensemble has received many prizes for its work. They have won the Deutsche Schallplatten Preis several times and the Gramophone Award for the best recording of contemporary music in 1999 (Elliott Carter) in 2002 (Harrison Birtwistle) and in 2018 (Pascal Dusapin). In 2004 they were awarded the ‘Coup de Coeur’ prize by the Academie Charles Cros in France for their exceptional contribution to the dissemination of contemporary music. The prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Prize was awarded to them in 1999 for ‘lifetime achievement’ in music. They remain to this day, the only ensemble ever to receive it.
The complete archive of the Arditti quartet is housed in the Sacher Foundation in Basle, Switzerland.

David Felder: Netivot (2016)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.